Pollutants

Factsheet 11: Microplastics in wastewater treatment - Development of sampling and analysis methods for detection of input quantities into surface waters

It is not easy to determine how much microplastic is contained in wastewater and sewage sludge. In addition to plastic, countless other particles and substances are present. To reliably determine the concentration of microplastic particles, complex procedures for sampling as well as for removal of foreign substances and analysis of the microplastic particles are required.

PLAWES

Microplastic Contamination in the Weser- Wadden Sea – National Park Model System: an Ecosystem-Wide Approach
September 2017
April 2021

In PLAWES, the modelling system of the German national park Weser-Wadden Sea is the first large European river basin that is investigated in detail regarding its microplastic pollution to.

SubμTrack

Tracking of (Sub)Microplastics of Different Identities - Innovative Analysis Tools for Toxicological and Process-engineering Evaluation
September 2017
June 2021

The methods currently available for the analysis of microplastics in environmental matrices are primarily designed for particles in the size range of 1 μm to 5 mm. Smaller particles below 1 μm have hardly been detected so far. However in contrast to larger particles, these are able to enter cells and have a higher potential for adsorption of pollutants due to their relatively larger surface.

RAU

Tyre Wear in the Environment
August 2017
January 2021

Plastics in the environment are an increasingly serious challenge. As macroplastics deteriorate, such as through tire abrasion, the resulting microplastics can enter the aquatic environment through a variety of entry points. As vehicle traffic increases, there is an inevitable increase in microplastics from worn tires ending up in the environment.

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )

Schadstoffe

Factsheet 11: Mikroplastik in der Abwasserbehandlung - Methodenentwicklung für Probenahme und Analyse zur Erfassung der Eintragsmengen in Oberflächengewässer

Herauszufinden, wie viel Mikroplastik sich im Abwasser und Klärschlamm befindet, ist nicht leicht. Neben Plastik kommen unzählige weitere Partikel und Stoffe darin vor. Um die Konzentration von Mikroplastik-Partikeln zuverlässig ermitteln zu können, sind deshalb aufwändige Verfahren für die Probenahme sowie zur Entfernung der Fremdstoffe und Analyse der Mikroplastik- Partikel erforderlich.

PLAWES

Mikroplastikkontamination im Modellsystem Weser – Nationalpark Wattenmeer: ein ökosystemübergreifender Ansatz
September 2017
April 2021

In PLAWES wird mit dem Modellsystem Weser- Nationalpark Wattenmeer weltweit erstmals und umfassend die Mikroplastikbelastung eines großen Flusseinzugsgebietes mit europäischer Dimension untersucht.

SubμTrack

Tracking von (Sub)Mikroplastik unterschiedlicher Identität – Innovative Analysetools für die toxikologische und prozesstechnische Bewertung
September 2017
Juni 2021

Die zur Analytik von Mikroplastik in Umweltmatrices verfügbaren Methoden sind derzeit v.a. für Partikel im Größenbereich von 1 μm bis 5 mm ausgelegt. Kleinere Partikel unterhalb 1 μm werden bisher kaum erfasst. Diese sind jedoch im Gegensatz zu größeren Partikeln zellgängig und besitzen aufgrund ihrer im Verhältnis größeren Oberfläche ein höheres Potenzial zur Adsorption von Schadstoffen.

RAU

Reifenabrieb in der Umwelt
August 2017
Januar 2021

Plastik in der Umwelt stellt eine zunehmend größere Herausforderung dar. Makroplastik und daraus entstehendes Mikroplastik, zu dem auch Reifenabrieb gehört, gelangt über unterschiedliche Eintragspfade in die aquatische Umwelt und der zunehmende KFZ-Verkehr führt unweigerlich zum vermehrten Aufkommen an Reifenabrieb.

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )