Catchment area

MikroPlaTas

Microplastics in Dams and Reservoirs: Sedimentation, Spread, Effects
January 2018
September 2021

The spread of microplastics in rivers shows that along a given waterway there are sources as well as sinks. Thus, dams and reservoirs constitute important but until now hardly investigated parts of a water system that serve as examples for risk vs. usefulness of sedimentation of microplastics.

EmiStop

Identification of Industrial Plastic Emissions by Means of Innovative Detection Methods and Technology Development to Prevent the Input into the Environment via the Wastewater Pathway
January 2018
December 2020

This project systematically detects emissions of plastics into wastewater from relevant industries. Emissions levels will be analysed along all points of the value chain (production, transport, processing, and cleaning of synthetic materials).

REPLAWA

Reduction of the Input of Plastics via Wastewater into the Aquatic Environment
January 2018
December 2021

The REPLAWA project covers questions of water resource protection in connection with wastewater treatment. The project will investigate and quantitatively assess entry points into water bodies through treatment plants, storm water drainage, and combined sewer overflows as well as swales at treatment facilities and in sewage sludge.

KuWert

Ship-Based Treatment of Plastics for the Implementation of Value Chains in Less Developed Countries as well as for the Prevention of Plastic Inputs into the Environment and Especially in Marine Ecosystems
August 2017
December 2019

Since it is technically and economically impossible to reduce the amount of plastic waste in oceans, solutions to cut the entry of such substances into the environment must be developed. Developing countries, however, often lack land-based approaches to such solutions.

SubμTrack

Tracking of (Sub)Microplastics of Different Identities - Innovative Analysis Tools for Toxicological and Process-engineering Evaluation
September 2017
June 2021

The methods currently available for the analysis of microplastics in environmental matrices are primarily designed for particles in the size range of 1 μm to 5 mm. Smaller particles below 1 μm have hardly been detected so far. However in contrast to larger particles, these are able to enter cells and have a higher potential for adsorption of pollutants due to their relatively larger surface.

PLASTRAT

Strategies for Reducing the Entry of Urban Plastics into Limnic Systems
September 2017
December 2020

The common element of all investigations in PLASTRAT is the development of solution strategies for sustainable limitation of the spread of plastic residues in the aquatic environment on technical, environmental, scientific and social-ecological levels. The objective consists of developing a multi-criteria evaluation approach for the environmental compatibility of different types of plastics.

TextileMission

Microplastics of Textile Origin - A Holistic View: Optimized Processes and Materials, Material Flows and Environmental Behavior
September 2017
March 2021

Textiles made of synthetic fibres can lose microparticles during household washing, which can then enter rivers, lakes and oceans. The goal of Textile- Mission is to reduce the related environmental impact. The project is pursuing an interdisciplinary approach with partners from the Sport Goods Industry, research, the detergent and household aplliance sectors, and environmental protection.

RAU

Tyre Wear in the Environment
August 2017
January 2021

Plastics in the environment are an increasingly serious challenge. As macroplastics deteriorate, such as through tire abrasion, the resulting microplastics can enter the aquatic environment through a variety of entry points. As vehicle traffic increases, there is an inevitable increase in microplastics from worn tires ending up in the environment.

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )

Eintragspfade

PLAWES

Mikroplastikkontamination im Modellsystem Weser – Nationalpark Wattenmeer: ein ökosystemübergreifender Ansatz
September 2017
April 2021

In PLAWES wird mit dem Modellsystem Weser- Nationalpark Wattenmeer weltweit erstmals und umfassend die Mikroplastikbelastung eines großen Flusseinzugsgebietes mit europäischer Dimension untersucht.

MicBin

Mikroplastik in Binnengewässern – Untersuchung und Modellierung des Eintrags und Verbleibs im Donaugebiet als Grundlage für Maßnahmenplanungen
Oktober 2017
März 2021

Ziel des Projekts MicBin ist die erstmalige Bilanzierung des Eintrags von Makro-, Meso- und insbesondere Mikroplastik (MP) für das deutsche Donaueinzugsgebiet mit Messkampagnen an den wesentlichen Donau-Zuflüssen.

MikroPlaTaS

Mikroplastik in Talsperren und Staubereichen: Sedimentation, Verbreitung, Wirkung
Januar 2018
September 2021

Die Verbreitung von Mikroplastik in Flüssen verdeutlicht, dass es entlang des Flussverlaufs neben Quellen auch Senken gibt. Wichtige und bisher wenig untersuchte Kompartimente des Gewässersystems sind Talsperren und Stauhaltungen, wo sich Nutzen und Risiko der Sedimentation von Mikroplastik besonders gut exemplarisch untersuchen lassen.

EmiStop

Identifikation von industriellen Plastik-Emissionen mittels innovativer Nachweisverfahren und Technologieentwicklung zur Verhinderung des Umwelteintrags über den Abwasserpfad
Januar 2018
Dezember 2020

Inhalt des Vorhabens ist die systematische Erfassung der Kunststoffemissionen im Abwasser relevanter Industriebranchen. Dabei werden emittierte Frachten entlang der Wertschöpfungskette (Herstellung, Transport, Weiterverarbeitung und Reinigung von Kunststoffen) betrachtet.

REPLAWA

Reduktion des Eintrags von Plastik über das Abwasser in die aquatische Umwelt
Januar 2018
Dezember 2021

Das REPLAWA-Projekt untersucht innerhalb der Thematik des Plastiks in der Umwelt die Fragestellungen und Aufgaben zum Schutz der Ressource Wasser in Zusammenhang mit der Abwasserableitung und Abwasserbehandlung.

KuWert

Schiffgestützte Behandlung von Kunststoffen zur Implementierung von Wertschöpfungsketten in wenig entwickelten Ländern sowie zur Vermeidung von Kunststoffeinträgen in die Umwelt und insbesondere in marine Ökosysteme
August 2017
Dezember 2019

Da eine nennenswerte Abreicherung der Kunststoffabfälle aus den Meeren bisher technisch und wirtschaftlich nicht möglich ist, müssen Lösungen zur Verringerung des Eintrags von Kunststoffen in die Umwelt entwickelt werden. Landgestützte Lösungsansätze aber fehlen oft in weniger entwickelten Ländern.

SubμTrack

Tracking von (Sub)Mikroplastik unterschiedlicher Identität – Innovative Analysetools für die toxikologische und prozesstechnische Bewertung
September 2017
Juni 2021

Die zur Analytik von Mikroplastik in Umweltmatrices verfügbaren Methoden sind derzeit v.a. für Partikel im Größenbereich von 1 μm bis 5 mm ausgelegt. Kleinere Partikel unterhalb 1 μm werden bisher kaum erfasst. Diese sind jedoch im Gegensatz zu größeren Partikeln zellgängig und besitzen aufgrund ihrer im Verhältnis größeren Oberfläche ein höheres Potenzial zur Adsorption von Schadstoffen.

PLASTRAT

Lösungsstrategien zur Verminderung von Einträgen von urbanem Plastik in limnische Systeme
September 2017
Dezember 2020

Verbindendes Element aller Untersuchungen in PLASTRAT ist die Entwicklung von Lösungsstrategien zur nachhaltigen Begrenzung der Ausbreitung von Plastikrückständen in der aquatischen Umwelt auf technischer, umweltwissenschaftlicher und sozial-ökologischer Ebene mit dem Ziel der gemeinsamen Entwicklung eines multikriteriellen Bewertungsansatzes zur Umweltverträglichkeit von unterschiedlich bescha

TextileMission

Mikroplastik textilen Ursprungs – Eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung: Optimierte Verfahren und Materialien, Stoffströme und Umweltverhalten
September 2017
März 2021

Textilien aus Synthesefasern können bei der Haushaltswäsche Mikropartikel verlieren, die in Flüsse, Seen und Meere gelangen. Diese Umweltbelastung zu reduzieren, ist das Ziel von TextileMission.

RAU

Reifenabrieb in der Umwelt
August 2017
Januar 2021

Plastik in der Umwelt stellt eine zunehmend größere Herausforderung dar. Makroplastik und daraus entstehendes Mikroplastik, zu dem auch Reifenabrieb gehört, gelangt über unterschiedliche Eintragspfade in die aquatische Umwelt und der zunehmende KFZ-Verkehr führt unweigerlich zum vermehrten Aufkommen an Reifenabrieb.

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )