Methods development

InRePlast

Environmental Policy Instruments to Reduce Plastic Pollution of Inland Waters through Drainage Systems
January 2019
December 2021

The project aims to make a significant, transdisciplinary contribution to applied research on the prevention of plastic discharges into water bodies via drainage systems from a behavioural and environmental economics perspective.

EmiStop

Identification of Industrial Plastic Emissions by Means of Innovative Detection Methods and Technology Development to Prevent the Input into the Environment via the Wastewater Pathway
January 2018
December 2020

This project systematically detects emissions of plastics into wastewater from relevant industries. Emissions levels will be analysed along all points of the value chain (production, transport, processing, and cleaning of synthetic materials).

KuWert

Ship-Based Treatment of Plastics for the Implementation of Value Chains in Less Developed Countries as well as for the Prevention of Plastic Inputs into the Environment and Especially in Marine Ecosystems
August 2017
October 2019

Since it is technically and economically impossible to reduce the amount of plastic waste in oceans, solutions to cut the entry of such substances into the environment must be developed. Developing countries, however, often lack land-based approaches to such solutions.

SubμTrack

Tracking of (Sub)Microplastics of Different Identities - Innovative Analysis Tools for Toxicological and Process-engineering Evaluation
September 2017
August 2020

The methods currently available for the analysis of microplastics in environmental matrices are primarily designed for particles in the size range of 1 μm to 5 mm. Smaller particles below 1 μm have hardly been detected so far. However in contrast to larger particles, these are able to enter cells and have a higher potential for adsorption of pollutants due to their relatively larger surface.

RUSEKU

Representative Investigation Strategies for an Integrative System Approach to Specific Emissions of Plastics into the Environment
April 2018
March 2021

This project aims to develop representative investigation methods and strategies for an integrative system understanding of relevant plastic entry paths into the environmental compartment water.

PLASTRAT

Strategies for Reducing the Entry of Urban Plastics into Limnic Systems
September 2017
August 2020

The common element of all investigations in PLASTRAT is the development of solution strategies for sustainable limitation of the spread of plastic residues in the aquatic environment on technical, environmental, scientific and social-ecological levels. The objective consists of developing a multi-criteria evaluation approach for the environmental compatibility of different types of plastics.

RAU

Tyre Wear in the Environment
August 2017
July 2020

Plastics in the environment are an increasingly serious challenge. As macroplastics deteriorate, such as through tire abrasion, the resulting microplastics can enter the aquatic environment through a variety of entry points. As vehicle traffic increases, there is an inevitable increase in microplastics from worn tires ending up in the environment.

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )

Methodenentwicklung

TU Darmstadt: Mikroplastik im Fluss

Mikroplastik gelangt auf verschiedenen Wegen ins Wasser und in den menschlichen Körper. Forscherinnen und Forscher der TU Darmstadt entwickeln Nachweisverfahren für Kunststoffpartikel in industriellen Abwässern, die bisher noch nicht im Fokus von Untersuchungen standen. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie arbeiten sie zudem an Methoden, den Eintrag der Partikel ins Wasser zu verhindern.

Diskussionspapier Mikroplastik-Analytik

Eines der ersten verbundprojektübergreifenden Ergebnisse des Forschungsschwerpunkts ist da: Das Diskussionspapier Mikroplastik-Analytik gibt den aktuellen Stand der Debatte zu physikochemischen Untersuchungsverfahren innerhalb des Forschungsschwerpunktes wieder und soll zu einem möglichst einheitlichen Methodenpool für die relevanten Fragestellungen in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung beitragen.

EmiStop

Identifikation von industriellen Plastik-Emissionen mittels innovativer Nachweisverfahren und Technologieentwicklung zur Verhinderung des Umwelteintrags über den Abwasserpfad

Inhalt des Vorhabens ist die systematische Erfassung der Kunststoffemissionen im Abwasser relevanter Industriebranchen. Dabei werden emittierte Frachten entlang der Wertschöpfungskette (Herstellung, Transport, Weiterverarbeitung und Reinigung von Kunststoffen) betrachtet.

KuWert

Schiffgestützte Behandlung von Kunststoffen zur Implementierung von Wertschöpfungsketten in wenig entwickelten Ländern sowie zur Vermeidung von Kunststoffeinträgen in die Umwelt und insbesondere in marine Ökosysteme

Da eine nennenswerte Abreicherung der Kunststoffabfälle aus den Meeren bisher technisch und wirtschaftlich nicht möglich ist, müssen Lösungen zur Verringerung des Eintrags von Kunststoffen in die Umwelt entwickelt werden. Landgestützte Lösungsansätze aber fehlen oft in weniger entwickelten Ländern.

SubμTrack

Tracking von (Sub)Mikroplastik unterschiedlicher Identität – Innovative Analysetools für die toxikologische und prozesstechnische Bewertung

Die zur Analytik von Mikroplastik in Umweltmatrices verfügbaren Methoden sind derzeit v.a. für Partikel im Größenbereich von 1 μm bis 5 mm ausgelegt. Kleinere Partikel unterhalb 1 μm werden bisher kaum erfasst. Diese sind jedoch im Gegensatz zu größeren Partikeln zellgängig und besitzen aufgrund ihrer im Verhältnis größeren Oberfläche ein höheres Potenzial zur Adsorption von Schadstoffen.

RUSEKU

Repräsentative Untersuchungsstrategien für ein integratives Systemverständnis von spezifischen Einträgen von Kunststoffen in die Umwelt

Im Projekt sollen repräsentative Untersuchungsverfahren und -strategien für ein integratives Systemverständnis von relevanten Kunststoffeintragspfaden in das Umweltkompartiment Wasser entwickelt werden.

PLASTRAT

Lösungsstrategien zur Verminderung von Einträgen von urbanem Plastik in limnische Systeme

Verbindendes Element aller Untersuchungen in PLASTRAT ist die Entwicklung von Lösungsstrategien zur nachhaltigen Begrenzung der Ausbreitung von Plastikrückständen in der aquatischen Umwelt auf technischer, umweltwissenschaftlicher und sozial-ökologischer Ebene mit dem Ziel der gemeinsamen Entwicklung eines multikriteriellen Bewertungsansatzes zur Umweltverträglichkeit von unterschiedlich bescha

( top of page )( zum Seitenanfang )